Showing posts with label Marketing. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Marketing. Show all posts

Thursday, 1 August 2013

Presentation on The History of Search Engines - Slideshow and Infographics

The History of Search Engines and SEO goes back to the 1990 and is getting upgraded in a very vast speed. In this Slide show you will see how it starts, what techniques people used to do to rank on search engines and how hard and technical it was until google updated its algorithms and made SEO more about content, Value, and User Experience.
The slide show is 101 slides, but I promise you will find it very interesting and informative and won't take you more than 30 minutes.


And Here is the Infographic 



Top search engines


And Another One Too 



Search Engine History
Infographic: Search Engine History by Infographiclabs

Wednesday, 31 July 2013

Where to Start SEO for New Websites - 30 Things to Do

By +Mina Adly Younan
You plan to create a new website for your business? Everybody is talking about SEO and you want to employ it but you do not know where to start from?

Here is a Checklist of 30 things you should think of when you start a new website to make it Search Engine Optimized as well as User Friendly and Engaging.



  1. If it is a Local Business website buy a local TLD (.ca) and direct the (.com) to it
  2. Homepage and inner pages' titles are the identity of the site and they should be a well selected combination of the targeted message and Keywords  
  3. Meta Description, and Headers should reflect each page’s message and value proposed
  4. The URLs has to be readable
  5. The Content has to be engaging, trending, well-designed, Tightly themed on all pages, and user friendly
  6. The 404 page has to be customized, navigable, and engaging
  7. Create Robots.txt
  8. Create Sitemap.xml
  9. Submit the site to Google Webmasters
  10. Submit the Site to Bing Webmasters
  11. Create an analytics account
  12. Link Analytics with Webmasters tool
  13. Index the pages to Google and Bing
  14. If it is a WordPress Site, install SEO plugins (like Yoast)
  15. Make sure that the Domain is purchased for more than 2 years (10 years is the Best)
  16. If it is a Local business, submit to Google Places
  17. Create a French Version for a Luxury Canadian Brand
  18. Create a Mobile Version
  19. IP canonicalization and www resolve
  20. Create Social Media Pages (FB, Twitter, YT, LinkedIn) and link them to the site
  21. Submit to DMOZ
  22. Submit to Local Directories
  23. Create and Publish a PR on the new website launch (it is recommended if it is a paid PR like on PRweb or MediaWire)
  24. Submit to Industry/Business-related Directories (The higher their PR the better ranking the site will get)
  25. Submit RSS Feeds and Ping related networks and search engines
  26. Invest in targeted PPC campaigns to reveal the brand to the fans
  27. Invest in a Social Media Marketing to start with social media fans base to create the buzz
  28. Start a blog and share its content on Social Media
  29. Monitor and Optimize
  30. Design and Content A/B Testing 

SEO for Under construction websites


Friday, 7 June 2013

PPC != Adwords: The Complete Guide for Pay Per Click Traffic Sources

I was astonished to find that there are many PPC specialists with years of online Advertising experience still think that PPC is Adwords. Yes, Google is a giant Ad server with its Mega Search engine and massive Display network, but still there are thousands of  websites with relevant audience to your business that you can reach without Google Adwords.

Below, is a list that will help all my PPC bros build their media buying plans and strategies:


  • Google Adwords – http://adwords.google.com
  • MSN Adcenter - https://adcenter.microsoft.com
  • Looksmart – LookSmart > Pay-Per-Click Search Advertising
  • 7Search – 7Search | Pay-Per-Click Search Engine Advertising Network
  • Facebook Ads – Advertising | Facebook
  • MyAds – http://www.myads.com
  • Clicksor – Contextual Online Advertising and Behavioral Marketing Company
  • Marchex - Marchex : Pay Per Click
  • AdSide – AdSide
  • Adblade – Adblade - Online Advertising and Monetization Services
  • Adbrite – adBrite Exchange
  • AdSonar – http://www.adsonar.com
  • POF Ads - https://ads.pof.com
  • Advertise.com – Online Advertising Company : PPC : Email Traffic : Remarketing : Display Advertising : Online Ads : Pay Per Click Advertising : Advertise.com
  • Pulse360 – Pulse 360 - The Leader in Content Targeted Sponsored Links on the Web's Best Sites
  • AdClickMedia – AdClickMedia Advertising Network - Pay Per Click Advertising, online text advertising, banner advertising, and Interstitial advertising.
  • Bidvertiser – BidVertiser - Pay Per Click Advertising On Sites Of Your Choice.
  • Adknowledge – Adknowledge.com | The leading long tail marketplace
  • Findit-quick - Pay Per Click | Pay Per Click Advertising | PPC | PPC Advertising | Pay Per Click Search Engine
  • AdManage – Admanage affiliate and advertising network - PPC, CPC Banner, In Text, Display Ads, CPV, Domain Parking
  • Findology – http://www.findology.com
  • AdMarketplace – Performance-Driven Search Advertising | adMarketplace.com
  • Ezanga - http://www.ezanga.com/
  • Media Traffic – Media Traffic - CPV PPV Contextual Advertising
  • Trafficvance – Trafficvance :: Advanced Display & Text Link Traffic | Home
  • DirectCPV – Pay Per View PPV Cost Per View CPV Contextual Online Advertising Network
  • AdOnNetwork – Pay Per Click Advertising | Pop Under Ads | AdOn Network
  • Lead Impact – LeadImpact
  • Infolinks – Pay Per Click Advertising - In Text Ads for Websites by Infolinks
  • Kontera – Kontera
  • 50onRed – Performance is Paramount | 50 on Red
  • Vibrant Media – Vibrant - The Leaders of Contextual and In-Text Advertising
  • Linkworth – LinkWorth | Search Engine Marketing - Text Link Advertising
  • Inlinks - inLinks - In Content Link Market Place
  • InText – InTEXT SYSTEMS (wwwserver2)
  • Casale Media – Casale Media - Home
  • Valueclick – http://www.valueclick.comhttp://www....ickformula.com
  • Tribal Fusion – Home « Tribal Fusion
  • Traffiq – http://www.trafficq.com
  • Yahoo AdReady - AdReady - Online Display Advertising Campaign Software for Agencies, Advertisers & Publishers | AdReady
  • Ask – http://www.ask.com/products/
  • Illyx - illyx Network | Affiliate platform Pay per install, impression, click
  • MegaClick - NOTICE
  • GoTraffic.com – Online traffic marketplace, where website owners and online marketers do business.
  • Advertising.com – Shopping Search | Ask.com
  • BuySellAds – Buy Ads | BuySellAds
  • DoubleClick – DoubleClick: The technology foundation for digital advertising
  • Burst Media - BURST MEDIA
  • Dashboard Ad - Dashboard Ad
  • Adengage - AdEngage - Engaging Internet Advertising
  • CPX Interactive - Welcome to CPX
  • Undertone - Undertone
  • Ad Pepper - ad pepper media: Home



Contextual Pop Ups



  • Adoori – Adoori - Reinvent Your Advertising.
  • Infinity ads - Contextual Advertising | Pop Under - Pop Up Ads - Targeted Internet Advertising Services


Retargeting, Remarketing, and Ad Exchange


  • AdRoll – Retargeting and Display Advertising | AdRoll Retargeting
  • AdRetargeting – Ad Retargeting - Behavioral Retargeting - Behavioral Marketing - Search Retargeting
  • Fetchback - FetchBack - The Retargeting Company
  • Recrue Media - Retargeting Advertising | Retargeting Companies | Recrue Media



Paid Domain Traffic



  • Elephant Traffic - https://www.elephant-traffic.com



Paid Traffic for Mobile



  • Admob – Mobile advertising with AdMob: mobile ads for apps ? Google Ads
  • Jumptap – Jumptap | The Leader In Targeted Mobile Advertising
  • inMobi – InMobi | Global Mobile Ad Network
  • Adfonic – Adfonic
  • Mojiva – Mobile Advertising with Mojiva's Mobile Ad Network
  • Mobclix – Mobile Advertising, App Advertising and Analytics, Mobile Ad Exchange, Mobclix



But Be Ware.... Because


Thursday, 30 May 2013

How to Calculate your ROI for Online Advertising campaigns?

3 Years ago, a Sales Manager at Google Adwords, and a friend too, told me if you know the power of Online Adverting, you will keep your campaigns "Always On". Because if for every 1000$ you pay on advertising you gain 1300$ revenue, then why limit your budget if profit can be unlimited?

So, to be more convincing we need to Calculate the net profit by subtracting your costs from your AdWords revenue for a given time period. Then divide your net profit by your AdWords costs to get your AdWords ROI for that time period. 

Here's an example:
($1300               -
$1000)        /
$1000        =
0.3
Your revenue (measured by conversions)
Your overall costs
Your AdWords costs
Your ratio of profit to advertising cost is 30% -- this is your AdWords ROI.


always on marketing



Sometimes your ROI may require a different formula. For example, if you're interested in calculating the ROI for a page view or lead, you'll have to estimate the values of each of these actions.

A Yellow Pages ad for your business may cost $1000 per year and result in 100 leads. Ten of those leads become customers, and each customer provides a net profit of $120, after taking your business costs into account. So the value of each lead is $12 ($1200 net profit/100 leads), and your ROI for the Yellow Pages ad is 120% ($1200 net profit/$1000 advertising cost) x 100.
Here's the formula used in this example: (Total revenue - Total cost)/Advertising costs x 100 = Advertising ROI %

A simple alternative to estimating values for your leads and page views is to use a cost-per-acquisition (CPA) measurement. Acquisitions are the same thing as conversions: they're actions your customers take that you think are valuable, such as completing a purchase or signing up to receive more information.
Using this method allows you to focus primarily on how your advertising costs compare to the number of acquisitions those costs deliver. Using the Yellow Pages example again, your ad may cost $1000, resulting in 10 sales. So your CPA for that ad is $100. Here's the formula for CPA: 

(Costs/Sales) = CPA

Your CPA shouldn't exceed the profit you made from each acquisition. For your Yellow Pages ad, the CPA is 20% less than the profit the acquisitions provide.

Formula to calculate Cost Per Acquisition

Cost Per Acquisition (CPA) is calculated as:

ad campaign cost/[number of impressions x CTR x CR]. 


Example: an advertiser pays a CPM of $10. For 20,000 impressions the advertiser has 5 percent click-through rate (CTR) to the landing (destination page). 30 percent of those 5 percent convert to paying customers(CR).

The calculation is: ($10.00 * 20,000Impressions / 1000)/(20,000*0.05*0.30) = $0.67. That is, the cost per acquisition is $0.67.

See Also:

Tuesday, 14 May 2013

In-Store Online Resources for Mobile Users - Mobile in Store Research

Google have launched a new study showing that most mobile users are now using their smart phones during the in-store shopping process to make their shopping decisions. Most of them use search engines and the majority of the rest goes to the store's official website.
After you know that, how will you consider your Online Adverting Strategy for your E-Commerce business?

Here is the detailed Stats:

In-Store Online Resources for Mobile Users

Monday, 13 May 2013

Save Time and Have Someone Do Your Routine Reporting for 19$/mo!

My friend Laith told me about this tool to save us few hours everyday on reporting, it is called BringShare.
For 19$/mo. You can simply build a dashboard that combines all the necessary data together  to give you a complete understanding of your marketing. Then, you can connect the necessary tools to feed the dashboard with unique data.

BringShare Data Reporting

SEO Consultant Job Vs. PPC Consultant Job: Infographic

Tuesday, 16 April 2013

Free SEO Tools to Monitor Your Brand Reputation

Basic (Free) Tools to Monitor your Brand (name):

1- Google Alerts: are email updates of the latest relevant Google results based on your choice of query or topic. You can subscribe to each alert through email and RSS. The alerts track blog posts, news articles, videos and even groups. Set a “comprehensive alert,” which will notify you of stories, as they happen, for your name, your topic, and even your company.

2- Yahoo! Pipes: is also a good tool for aggregating and combining feeds into one central repository.

3-Technorati: is the largest blog search engine in the world. They say that if you don’t claim your blog in Technorati, then you don’t own it! When you register with it, Technorati tracks “blog reactions,” or blogs that link to yours. Search for your brand on Technorati, and subscribe to RSS alerts so that when someone blogs about you, you find out.

4-Backtype: is a tool for monitoring blog comments. If people commented on various blog posts, citing your name, you never used to have a way of tracking it, until now. Backtype is a service that lets you find, follow, and share comments from across the web. Whenever you write a comment with a link to your Web site, Backtype attributes it to you.

5- Yacktrack: lets you search for comments on your content from various sources, such as Blogger, Digg, FriendFeed, Stumbleupon, and WordPress blogs. If you comment on a blog, you can locate other people who are commenting on that same blog post and rejoin the conversation.

6- Commentful: used to track your social comments on the web.

7- co.mments: Also used to track your social comments on the web. 

8-  boardtracker.com to get instant alerts from discussion boards threads citing your name (brand).

9- Boardreader Also used to get instant alerts from discussion boards threads citing your name (brand).

10- Big Boards The same as the above it is used to get instant alerts from discussion boards threads citing your name (brand).

11- Twitter search where you can locate any instances of your name and decide whether you want to tweet back or ignore them. It really depends on the context and meaning of the tweet.

12-  Twilert used to receive email alerts about tweets mentioning you

13- TweetBeep additional tool you can use to receive email alerts.

14- FriendFeed is a social aggregator. You have the ability to take all of your social accounts, such as YouTube, Delicious, Twitter, blog, and Flickr, and pull them together into a single (Friend) feed. You can conduct searches on your brand throughout all social networks at once using this search engine.

15- Alert Thingy. very helpful if you want to receive alerts straight to your desktop

16- Social Mention is a social media search engine that searches user-generated content such as blogs, comments, bookmarks, events, news, videos, and microblogging services. It allows you to track mentions of your brand across all of these areas.

17- Serph social search engine

19- Keotag.Other social search engine

20-  Filtrbox only delivers the most relevant, credible mentions of things you need to track.


brand monitoring and reputation tracking

Mobile Search Advertising Around the Globe - Download 2013 Report

With smart mobile devices becoming ubiquitous, advertisers need to adapt their online marketing strategies to more closely reflect how people search, buy and share. Specifically, marketers will need to learn how to communicate with an always-on audience, think harder about allocating ad budgets across devices, and develop better attribution models to account for the fading boundaries between online and offline commerce.

Written for the online marketer, in this white paper you will learn:


  1. The latest mobile search trends and projections
  2. Advertising cost and performance across devices
  3. How to optimize mobile search opportunities


SEO Tips for Online Business in the U.S.

USA retailers SEO tipsThe USA online market is now growing more than anytime before. Consumers are becoming more and more confident shopping online, and the result is that the country’s internet retailing sector is now a multi-billion dollar industry and competition is also getting stronger.

Here are a few tips that should leverage your Online Business SEO:


1- Your TLD should be ".us" not ".com"

Although it is an online business on the World Wide Web, it is still Local and you want to rank higher for your country for real ROI.

Most merchants often forget that their SEO efforts will be measured by "organic rankings" on Google.us (and not .com). It would also be a good practice to bu the ".com" and redirect any traffic coming to it to the official ".us"

2- Set Geo Targeting in Google WebMaster Tools

Google’s Webmaster Tools is important for a number of SEO reasons, but it can be especially useful for US companies, as it allows you to tell Google the location of your website. This is important if you are using a .com.

3- Use your Local Keywords:

If your business is targeted one state you have to mention its name in many places in your pages. If you are a country-wide business try to create pages for each state and target it as an entity. Use the Title Tags, headings, rich snippets, etc.


4- Take Advantage of Physical Addresses

It’s important to add any relevant physical address to footers or a Contact Us page, particularly for merchants with a local or regional focus. Also, do not forget to add your business to Google Places for business 

5- Develop States-focused Link Building Strategy

Do some research to find potentially relevant American websites and social media influences  See what they’re doing and interact as much as you can. In the meantime, get busy sharing, replying/retweeting, and posting relevant content.

6- Submit to Web Directories and Local Directories 

One of the most effective ways to generate quality backlinks is to submit to major directories, including general web and business directories (DMOZ, Yahoo Directory, etc.), RSS feed directories, and those unique to your niche. Also, identify your Local directories and submit your business to them and get listed.
The more you submit, the more you will increase visibility to search engines and potential visitors. But of course take care not to submit your site to low quality directories or it will have negative results on your rankings and might get you penalized.


Read Also:




Thursday, 11 April 2013

What to Do if your Are Penalized by Google?

It may happen that some inexperienced SEO guy gave you some old-fashioned SEO advises that may have involved black hat or low quality SEO and the results was being penalized by Google's Panda and Penguin Algorithms.
Now, you know your fault and learned the lesson that Quality Content and natural links is what Page Raking is all about, it is time to fix (or try to fix) what has been broken.

In few points, I will list what should be taken care of to build your emergency strategy

  1. Think Quality and start building for the future and Google will compensate you. 
  2. Remove over optimized anchor text. and use more natural ones like (your domain, click here, learn more, etc.)
  3. Remove your links from all link farms and sites with low quality content and page rank (you can use SEOmoz and Webmasters Disavow Tools)
  4. Clean up your content and remove any low quality and duplicate pages. 

remove google penalization

Wednesday, 3 April 2013

Google Analytics Visual Dashboard and Reports Creation


DashThis is an interesting easy tool that brings all your Analytics Data and Social Media Insights to a visually attractive Dashboard. 

It also saves you a lot of time in reports creation.

Moreover, if you are an SEO Agency and needs tailored white-labels reports, you can also create them with DashThis.

Further, you can add a dashboard for your Adwords accounts and see all the needed information from one place. 

The Only Problem with this lovely tool is that it is expensive for all the data it gives you are already free.
For 10 dashboards you have to pay 99$/month and for 100 dashboards you will pay 449$/month.

In Conclusion, if you are a really big agency, you might like it. If not, you can enjoy it during the 15 days trial (but only for 10 dashboards) 

analytics dashboard and reporting
DashThis Dashboard

Customizing Google Analytics Data


Google Analytics has a lot of data (about 200 piece of information) that can help you know everything about your website. But Everything is too much, especially for big sites. That's why you need to cut data to give the right department only what they need. 

Small Business Owner:

  1. Total Visits
  2. Bounce Rate
  3. Conversion Rate
  4. Visits from a Mobile Device
  5. Returning Visits Rate
  6. Total Visits (Trend)
  7. Top Keywords from Organic (Visits)
  8. Top Sources (Visits)
  9. Top Pages (Pageviews)
  10. Top Referrers (Visits)
  11. Top Countries (Visits)


Manager / CxO

  1. Total Visits
  2. Conversion Rate
  3. Average Visit Value
  4. Average Visit Value (Goal)
  5. Total Goal Value
  6. Cost
  7. Top Converting Goals
  8. ROI (Returns on Investment)
  9. Total Visits (Trend)
  10. Conversion Rate (Trend)


SEO

  1. Total Visits
  2. Visits from Organic
  3. Conversions from Organic
  4. Conversion Rate from Organic
  5. Top Search Engines
  6. Visits from Organic Trend
  7. Top Landing Page from Organic (Visits)
  8. Top Keywords from Organic (Visits)


Paid Search


  1. Total Visits
  2. New Visits from Paid Search
  3. Clicks
  4. Impressions
  5. Ratio of New Visits From Paid Search
  6. Cost
  7. Conversions from PPC
  8. Cost per Conversion
  9. CTR (Click-through-rate)
  10. ROI (Returns on Investment)
  11. Top PPC Campaigns (Visits)


eMarketing

  1. Total Visits
  2. Total Visits (Trend)
  3. Conversion Rate
  4. Pages per Visit
  5. Bounce Rate
  6. Returning visitors
  7. Conversion Rate (Trend)
  8. Top Countries (Visits)
  9. Top Sources (Visits)
  10. Top Keywords from Organic (Visits)


Business Performance

  1. Total Visits
  2. Conversions (Goal)
  3. Revenue (Goal)
  4. Total Goal Value
  5. Transactions
  6. Revenue per Visit
  7. Conversion Rate
  8. Revenue per Transaction
  9. Average Visit Value


E-Commerce

  1. Total Visits
  2. Revenue (Goal)
  3. Transactions
  4. Revenue per Transaction
  5. Revenue per Visit
  6. Revenue (Trend)
  7. Items per Transaction
  8. Transactions (Trend)
  9. Transactions per Source
  10. Revenue per Source
  11. Visits to Transaction
  12. Days to Transaction


Mobile Performance

  1. Visits from Mobile
  2. Visits from Mobile Trend
  3. Visits from a Mobile Device
  4. Mobile Interaction Type
  5. Top Mobile Devices Branding (Visits)
  6. Top Mobile Devices (Visits)
  7. Top Mobile Platform (Visits)


Lead Generation

  1. Total Visits
  2. Conversions (Goal)
  3. Conversion Rate
  4. Average Visit Value
  5. Total Goal Value
  6. Conversion Rate (Trend)
  7. Top Converting Goals


Onsite Social Media

  1. Total Visits
  2. Social Media Interactions
  3. Social Media Interactions per Visit
  4. Onsite Facebook Likes
  5. Social Media Interactions trend
  6. Onsite Tweets
  7. Top Social Media Sources (Interactions)
  8. Top Social Media Actions (Interactions)




Tuesday, 2 April 2013

How Display Adverting Can Cost More than Just the Money?

Every Advertising Specialist (Whether Online or Offline) knows how important selecting the Ad space is. No company wants to put its Ad in the wrong place, or in a hidden space. That is why I highly recommend not to use the Automatic placements. Imagine if you are offering travel packages to Greece, you do not want to put your banners over a site citing news about turmoils in Athena because the Automatic placements engine will relate the keywords without understanding the CONTEXT. Or if you are a MacDonald's like brand you don't want to put your sandwiches pictures beside a title that says junk food is bad for your health.


Here are some funny examples on how ads can cost more than just the money.

1-Misplaced Offline Ads

























2- Misplaced Online Ads



























Photos Source: